We present you the new MFA President Bjorn Vassallo

    First contestant to contest for MFA Presidency is FIFA director Bjorn Vassallo

    The long awaited election during the Malta Football Association general meeting finally took place today. The new MFA president is Bjorn Vassallo.

    Running for the post of the new Malta Football Association President were Bjorn Vassallo and Chris Bonett, with both have previous posts at the Malta FA.

    Vassallo will take over Norman Darmanin Demajo after his tenure came to an end. Darmanin Demajo had been president of the Malta FA for nine years.

    There were 137 votes out of which 139 eligible ones. Vassallo got 83 of the votes and Bonett got 53 votes.

    The FIFA director will now head the Malta FA.

    Is this the result you hoped for? Do you think this is a step in the right direction for Maltese football?

    Loonynews wishes the new president Bjorn Vassallo all the best in his new post.